User Profile

BFIRST updates

There are no updates at this time

Edit Your Information
*Required field
Reset Forgotten Password
Retrieve username

WHO millennium goals

The United Nations Millennium Development Goals are eight goals that all 191 UN Member States agreed to achieve by the year 2015, if at all possible.

The Eight Millennium Development Goals are:

  1. to eradicate extreme poverty and hunger;
  2. to achieve universal primary education;
  3. to promote gender equality and empower women;
  4. to reduce child mortality;
  5. to improve maternal health;
  6. to combat HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases;
  7. to ensure environmental sustainability; and
  8. to develop a global partnership for development.

BFIRST’s mission alone supports 5 of these aims:

MDG 1:

untreated injury and disability including congenital malformations, lead to exclusion, inability to work and poverty

MDG 3:

education of female doctors and health workers promote equality and empower women

MDG 4:

Reduce child mortality directly by means of treatment
3% of deaths in children under five years old globally are due to injuries
3% of infant deaths are due to congenital anomalies
260,000 deaths worldwide are caused by congenital anomalies

MDG 6:

Combat HIV/AIDS, Malaria, and other infectious diseases
Infections cause tissue loss and disabilities, with potential for malignant transformation if left untreated

MDG 8:

All programmes are in partnership with local health institutions, doctors and governmental bodies. BFIRST is an enabling entity, not simply a provider.